Honorable Mention Greta Burroughs

Dear Readers,

I am blessed to have an amazing author on my blog today. She has six books published today and lives in South Carolina. I find her interesting because she used to be a teacher. It’s fascinating to see a teacher going from teaching to writing like me. My interest in her journey brought me to interviewing her. I’ve put together a great blog to introduce you to this talented woman. Please enjoy!

Is your glass half full or half empty?

Half full, I try to be positive and optimistic in all things.

If you could have a dinner party with five people (living or dead) who would be invited?

Eleanor Roosevelt, Anne McCaffery, Ernest Hemingway, Harper Lee, Anne Morrow Lindbergh.

Why would someone like your book(s)?

Hopefully, folks would like my books because they are fun. The Patchy and Calico stories entertain kids while teaching them valuable lessons. They are funny and even adults get a kick out of the antics of the two main characters. In the Wee People series, there is no sex, violence, profanity – just a fast-paced adventure and some loveable characters.

How old were you when you finished your first book? 49

How long did it take you to write it?

Gerald and the Wee People” was my first book to go from the idea stage to publication. It took a couple or three years to write since I was working full time as a freelance reporter for a local newspaper at the time. I also had a six month period of being legally blind where it took all my effort to complete my newspaper articles and the book was put on the back burner.

What do you do to keep yourself going when you aren’t motivated?

I’m kind of stuck right now – not having the inspiration to work on any of my manuscripts. During this time, I am working on marketing the books I have already written. I just revamped my website and blog and am doing blog posts trying to get myself back into writing mode.

Which comes first the chicken or the egg… I mean the plot or the characters?

When you set your characters do you use character bios/ sketches or do your characters just land on the page?

Since I’m a seat of the pants writer, both the plot and characters develop as the story is being written. I have no notes or outline so everything is more or less a surprise as I write.

Do you have any advice for the editing process?

Go through your manuscript yourself as many times as you need to to correct any spelling/grammar/punctuation/storyline errors you can find. After that, let a fresh set of eyes beta/proofread then get it edited.

If you could do everything over (writing your book, or publishing, etc.) would you change anything?

I first published my book with Outskirts Press. I have no complaints about the company except it took a lot of money to do what I later found out I could have done myself for a whole lot cheaper. I did not know anything about ebooks or Createspace and published it the only way I knew how at that time. If I could go back with the knowledge I have now, I would have done that differently.

Links

(US Amazon)  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004JKMT0Q

(UK Amazon) http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B004JKMT0Q

(B&N) http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/gerald-and-the-wee-people-greta-burroughs/1100075754?ean=2940015749366&itm=1&usri=greta+burroughs

(Smashwords)  http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/39307

Greta Burroughs Wee People Cover (SW, Kindle)

Author’s Bio

Greta Burroughs loves to read. No matter where she is, there is always a book close at hand. Her love of reading began at an early age and blossomed over time to include many different genres, her favorite now being fantasy.

As a preschool and elementary school teacher, Greta tried to instill the joy of reading in the children she worked with. Books were an important part of her classroom and story time was the highlight of the day.

It has been a while since Greta was in a classroom but she had lots of experience in reading to children of various ages and remembers what they enjoyed listening to. She tries to incorporate that knowledge into her work as an author and believes it makes her a better writer of children’s and young adult books.

She now resides in SC with her husband, Robert and three dogs. Greta has six books published at the present time; three children’s books in the Patchwork Dog and Calico Cat series, two MG/YA fantasy entitled Gerald and the Wee People and House on Bo-Kay Lane, and a nonfiction account of her experiences with an autoimmune blood disorder called ITP – Heartaches and Miracles.

For more information on Greta’s books visit http://booksbygretaburroughs.weebly.com/

greta burroughs

Thank Greta Burroughs for making this blog special, and readers don’t wait to get your hands on her book while it’s on sale!!!!!

Your Author,

T.M. Novak

About tnovak221

I am a mother of four sons, a teacher and an author. Currently I have a childrens book published called, The Red Headed Monster. This blog is about my publication adventure. I want to share the process as it happens. A highlight event occurred shortly after I began this process. In January 2013 I won a spot in an anthology from a writing contest I submitted to. Shortly after that I signed with a publisher for my first novel, The Abduction of Lilly Waters. It has been an amazing journey so far and every day there are new steps for me to take. Join me every step of the way! I was born in Waterbury, Conecticut and I grew up in California. Currently, I live in Arizona, but I hope to move from back home soon.
This entry was posted in Guest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Honorable Mention Greta Burroughs

  1. vixieuk says:

    Go Greta! I love the Wee People and Patchy & Calico 🙂

  2. Brenda Perlin says:

    I love that you were a lady reporter!!! That is very intriguing. You are full of surprises Greta. Your books are awesome!!! Great interview lovelies!!!!

Leave a Reply

