Honorable Mention DeEtte Beckstead

Dear Readers,

I have had the greatest privilege to get to know an amazing author, mother, and daughter in the past few months. I’ve been thoroughly impressed with not only her writing but her attitude and lookout on life. I want to present to you DeEtte Beckstead, the author of a beautifully written book called Victory. She also wrote, The Christmas Visitors. I found her book Victory poetic and mystifying from the very start and I believe you all will enjoy it as well. Please welcome, DeEtte and enjoy getting to know her as I have.

DeEtte Beckstead author image<

Victory cover DeEtte Beckstead     The Christmas Visitors cover DeEtte Beckstead

Here are some sample reviews of Victory.

“The author uses words as a paintbrush that delightfully reveals the town of Victory and its inhabitants, as well as their trials and tribulations. Each turn of the page will cause you to be hungry for more!”

“I found this book beautifully written. The author DeEtte Beckstead did a fabulous job weaving words together. It was poetic at times. The characters were very interesting. There was a keen sense of good vs. evil and a pull between the two. It was a humble tale about how God helps good people prevail in uncertain times.”

“Victory is not just a story about religion and worship but about compassion, redemption, forgiveness, and giving back. … It is a universal message whatever your belief system is.”

When I first heard this was a Christian story I thought, are they going to be conking me over the head with biblical verses? Then I started reading it. It is a story of hurt and abuse, but most importantly redemption. It is a modern tale that is very relatable to anyone who has a past. It lets you know that no matter who you are you are worthy of love.”

I couldn’t wait to contact DeEtte so I could pick her brain about her writing, thoughts, and even family. We had a nice chat and here are a few things we discussed.

Is your glass half full or half empty?
The glass is always full. Some days it is half empty of air and half full of water; other days, it is half empty of water and half full of air. I have been referred to as an optimistic pessimist! I do try to make the best of situations.

That makes sense, I think I am a little bit of both as well.

If you could have a dinner party with five people (living or dead) who would be invited?
I would invite Geoffrey Chaucer, George Washington, JRR Tolkien, CS Lewis, and Galileo.

That is quite a mix. Next time we chat I will have to have her elaborate on why???

Do you have any advice for the editing process?
It is necessary to make the book the best it can be. Another set of eyes to help find omitted or misplaced punctuation, subject/verb agreement, continuity and the flow of the story is invaluable. Since I am also an editor, I try to help the writer understand why the changes I suggest are good for the story. I recommend doing your best to edit before sending it to an editor. Get rid of or change overused words or phrases. If you don’t, your editor will! Try to keep in mind that the editor is your friend, not your enemy, too! It isn’t easy telling someone their hard work is in bad shape and needs hours of fixing!

I think I need to get DeEtte on speed dial because I will be doing my first edit round and I am terrified of it 🙂

If you could do everything over (writing your book, or publishing, etc.) would you change anything?
I think I would get it published sooner. Victory sat untouched for over four years before I thought about publishing it.

I feel your pain. I sat on my book too.

Describe yourself in one word.

Unique. I asked my friends on Facebook to help me with this one. The best answer that came up was “unique” because there is only one me!

I would have to agree 🙂

What super power would you like to have?
If I had a superpower, I would like it to be the ability to make the lives of others a little brighter, to bring a smile to the face of a sick child, to bring comfort to someone’s last days.

I figured as much. You really seem like a good-hearted, selfless person.

When you have time for yourself, what do you like to read?
I like to read historical fiction, as well as biographies. I also love many of the classics. I am not a great fan of fantasy/sci-fi, but I do enjoy some works in that genre. I like stories about families and kids, and of course, about dogs, especially rescued dogs!

Who are some of your favorite authors and why?
I like Tolkien and Lewis because they write with Godly themes. I like their descriptions of people and scenes. Recently I have enjoyed reading Joe McCoubrey and Brad Fleming’s books, as well as G Mitchell Baker’s. Their genres are not what I have read before, but I did enjoy their stories, and I will be waiting for more from them.

Thank you, DeEtte for being such a fun guest. Please share your bio and links where others can connect with you and your books.

Author Bio

Author and blogger, DeEtte Beckstead started writing in 2007 when her son challenged her to get involved in the National Novel Writing Month, known by the acronym, NaNoWriMo. The manuscript sat untouched with several others until January of 2012 when a good friend encouraged her to seek publication. The Christmas Visitors is her first published short story, and her current novel, Victory is also her first.  DeEtte spent much of her childhood playing the piano, clarinet, and guitar, reading, and making up stories. She was active in Girl Scouts, which gave her a variety of experiences. While in college, she was on the University of Utah Synchronized Swim team, and taught winter camping and survival skills for Girl Scouts. She has spent many years working with people with disabilities.  Originally from the state of Utah, currently DeEtte lives in New England where she writes full time and works on the editing team of Master Koda Select Publishing. Her other interests include swimming, crocheting, reading, traveling, history, and her grandchildren. In addition, this devoted mother of six and grandmother of twelve has been a concerned participant in dog rescue services for many years.

Blog: http://deetteanderton.wordpress.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/DeEtteBecksteadAuthor

Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/DeEtte-Beckstead/e/B00ADDW94Y/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

AuthorsdB page: http://www.authorsdb.com/authors-directory/66-deette-beckstead

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DBAnderton

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/2207218-deette-beckstead

Thank you all for stopping in and meeting Dette Beckstead. I hope you get your hands on her books so you can see exactly why I am boasting about her. 🙂

Your Author,

T. M. Novak

About tnovak221

I am a mother of four sons, a teacher and an author. Currently I have a childrens book published called, The Red Headed Monster. This blog is about my publication adventure. I want to share the process as it happens. A highlight event occurred shortly after I began this process. In January 2013 I won a spot in an anthology from a writing contest I submitted to. Shortly after that I signed with a publisher for my first novel, The Abduction of Lilly Waters. It has been an amazing journey so far and every day there are new steps for me to take. Join me every step of the way! I was born in Waterbury, Conecticut and I grew up in California. Currently, I live in Arizona, but I hope to move from back home soon.
This entry was posted in Guest. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment